History of Douglas Hall

The club was founded in 1971 by a group of young lads who were based in St. Columbus Hall, during the summers they played friendly matches against the students in the Seminary on Rochestown Rd (now Rochestown Pk Hotel).  Following these games the club entered the Cork AUL in 1971.

Over the following 50 years the club has won 102 different league and cup honours.  The first trophy won by the club was the Cork AUL Division 2 title in 1974.  Schoolboy’s football started over the next few years with the first schoolboy trophy, the Cork Schoolboys League Under 12 Cup, arriving in 1975.

The first cup competition to be won by Douglas Hall was the Cork AUL O’Keeffe Cup in 1978.  The club were one of the first in Cork to purchase land to develop pitches moving to Moneygourney in 1980.  The first league title won at schoolboys level was in 1987 when the Under 14’s won their Cork Schoolboys Under 14 Division 1 title. 


The ladies section was formed in 1997.  The first title won by the Schoolgirls was in 2007 when the club won the Cork Womens and Schoolgirls Soccer League Under 12 league title

Douglas Hall AFC are the only club to have won all three Munster Football Association cup competitions.  The Juniors were first off the mark winning the MFA Junior Cup in 1988.  Douglas Hall Senior team won the MFA Senior cup in 2014, beating Cobh Ramblers and Limerick FC on the way to the title.  The Under18’s won the MFA Youths Cup in 2018.